General information

Tanzania is a pleasant mixture of friendly people, culture & breathtaking nature.

From the rich history of the coastal kingdoms and palm-fringed beaches to the central highland plateau and Africa's vibrancy and rhythms: you can find it all in this East African country. You will also find here some of Africa's most famous attractions such as Serengeti National Park and Kilimanjaro, the roof of Africa.

The Tanzania mainland is divided into several clearly defined regions: the coastal plains which vary in width from 16 - 64 km. and have lush tropical vegetation; the Maasai Steppes in the north (213 - 1067 m above sea level); and the high plateau in the southern area towards Zambia and Lake Nyasa. Savannah and bush cover half of the country and semi-arid desert accounts for the remaining land area while volcanic highland can be seen on the northeast and southwest of the country. This includes also the Great Rift Valley and mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest peak. Over 53.000 square km. is inland water, mostley lakes formed in the Rift Valley. The United Republic of Tanzania includes the islands of Zanzibar (Unguja) and Pemba, about 45 km off the coast to the northeast of the country.

Flag TanzaniaThe United Republic of Tanzania lies on the Indian Ocean and is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Burundi, Rwanda and Democratic Republic of Congo to the west, and by Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The country measures 930.704 square km, 247.500 square km is devoted to the protection of wildlife.

 As a visitor you will invariably be welcomed with a warm and inviting 'Karibu!', the swahili word for 'welcome'.



Official name United Republic of Tanzania
Area 945.087 square km.
Population app. 43.000.000
Administrative capital Dodoma
Commercial capital Dar Es Salaam
Time GMT +3 hours
Language Kiswahili and English (and there are more than 120 tribal vernaculars)